Poets logo

Ditching Mary Jo

A poem based on a true story

By Heather CumboPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
7
This is the song that I heard on a lonely street in Iowa City

Mary Jo likes young men.

This time she brought me along.

I watch her as buff young bodies buy her

dirty named drinks

such as Blow Jobs.

I sip vodka and tonic,

a plain-looking liquid.

Young men don't like me

because they can't touch.

I don't like them;

they're too stupid.

I'm already drunk.

Bathroom's too crowded.

The room is pounding

and smells of sweat.

I feel so small.

I have to get out.

I have ditched Mary Jo.

Why am I

in a college town?

I'm too old

and past that stage.

I begin to walk

the street lined with bars:

Irish, sports, gay, country, gothic.

All busy, all loud.

I turn the corner.

This street's quiet;

business district.

Everything's closed.

Except one place.

Jazz notes tease.

I draw near.

"Mood Indigo."

Soft white light

illuminates

the club's name:

The Siren

The decor is red.

Tastefully done.

The bartender:

Blonde, Mae West-like,

relaxed, confident, smiling.

Very attractive.

What can I get you?

Coffee

Had a long night?

Yeah. Have regular customers?

Mostly.

Theatre people?

Theatre, art, music. You know the type.

I smile at her.

She smiles back,

then leaves me with my coffee

My face is hot.

The coffee is strong.

The music is wonderful.

I cry softly into my napkin

(don't know why),

leave a dollar tip

for two dollar coffee,

then leave to find Mary Jo.

performance poetry
7

About the Creator

Heather Cumbo

I once tried to major in Theatre, but ended up going back to my first love, which is Creative Writing. I am a huge bookworm and film buff. I also like theatre (the costume department), classic rock and folk music, and trying new things.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.