Poets logo

Ditching

A poem.

By Abby SiegelPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Source: Unsplash

I fell into a ditch

I dug last night

when I told myself

that nothing was better

than something

I buried myself into a ditch

I dug last night

when I refused to know

rejecting my own eyes

for dirt without even

a speck of gold

there’s no air in this ditch

I dug last night

but that is okay

there’s no air out there anyway

so why should I be aware

when there is no air

to live

one day I’ll come out of the ditch

I dug last night

as soon as you let me know

when the world has turned

bright again

~~~~~~~

©Abigail Siegel, 2019

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Abby Siegel

Currently a grad student in classics researching Latin poetry as well as myth and folklore. I write poetry most of the time, and I am working on my first poetry collection. I also write book reviews and other blog pieces.

Buy me a coffee

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.