Poets logo

Distraction

Poetry

By Audie EdwardsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
4
Distraction
Photo by The New York Public Library on Unsplash

Shh. Close those little eyes

As I try to make sense of this life.

Lonely and afraid

Stress becomes a distraction.

Something anything to ease the pain.

Shh, Close the little eyes as I try to make sense of this life.

Trying to shield you from all my wrongs

Shh...

Now your eyes, please little one.

Words I speak, must be loud for your little ears

For every word you hang too with joy, maybe fear.

Trying to find relief wanting this to end.

My life...

Not to drag you through destruction.

A horrible mother,

Shh, now close your eyes little one

As I try to make sense of this life.

Every mistake I have made.

You absorb learning the norm. This becomes

How do I make this right?

Hush, now my little one shut those eyes.

As I take this pain from mine.

The struggle from ours.

Shield those ears as I have spared, my life to make happiness for yours.

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

Audie Edwards

I am an amateur writer, who loves to write poems.

I feel poetry is my only escape from reality. I love to play with the imagination a little and get Dark. We all have nightmares and fears

I just put mine to work in a beautifully written poem.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.