Poets logo

Disrespect

A poem about fake friends.

By Serrena GraggPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Put your friendship away,

You are about to learn

I do not play those games.

I don't care to turn around and walk a different way,

My shoulders are feeling frosty today.

Can you blame me?

Disrespect is what made this happen.

You can't expect me to sit and believe

You're truly a 'friend',

After you openly disrespect me.

Were you thinking,

Or did you simply not care?

I wanted to play nice but

Unfortunately for you, I'm not a child so I'm no longer a fool.

I know how people trick and how they choose.

I have a feeling you already knew what you were doing, maybe that's true, even if it weren't, I'd rather just be done with you.

Because, either way, it matters,

As a woman, there are things you don't do

But I guess you don't understand,

A real woman would've already known.

I have a simple set of rules for myself,

I won't be around you any longer, especially if you smash on my buttons like I'm a controller.

Trying to pull the blanket up over my eyes,

So that I believe I truly am blind.

But like I've stated in the previous line,

I am not a fool.

And if you disrespect me even just a little,

I'll lift my middle finger and

Close and lock my metaphorical door.

Saying

Real women only!

No fiends!

Fuck you!

S.g

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Serrena Gragg

Welcome to my poetry page. This is where I will leave pieces of me for those who care to read my thoughts.

More from me at

https://linktr.ee/Serrenathedead

xoxo,

S.g

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.