Poets logo

Disgust for Humanity

Let this be your motivator

By Pieces of Me ~ Poems by HeidiPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Overseas...a thunder roars

As we sit and watch TV

Working 'til the clock strikes

Whatever it needs to be

~

While bodies lay in streets

Like those on Normandy’s beach

Yet we pay for doorbell rings

That bring boxes of relief

~

We scroll on manmade screens

For hours of each day

Clicking, clicking, clicking

Filling our brains with decay

~

A sickness grows inside my bones

Is this how we were raised?

To know harm is happening

And simply turn our gaze?

~

A boiling bubbles up in me

With disgust I have for thee

…And myself too

How can we sit here and wait for…

While overseas a thunder roars

~~~

* I wrote this the morning I learned about the invasion in Ukraine. I couldn’t believe what I heard and what was happening. I also felt like people I knew thought it was horrific but lived their lives as though it wasn’t happening. I couldn’t stop thinking about how can people do that with something so atrocious happening in Ukraine to people just like me. After writing this poem, I felt I had to do more. I wrote to my Senators. Additionally, I remembered I knew two people from a long time ago with family in Ukraine and reached out to both of them. I hope this poem serves as a call to action more than anything else. If you feel this bubbling up in you as I did, please do something about it. Complacency accomplishes nothing.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Pieces of Me ~ Poems by Heidi

In 2022, I came across a bin of my journals spanning many years. It was then that I realized I haven’t told people I enjoy writing or shared my work publicly. I decided to start.

FB/Insta @piecesofmepoemsandwriting

Thank you for reading ❤️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.