Poets logo

Disappointment to Myself

Poem

By Rilee AreyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Disappointment to Myself
Photo by Eric Ward on Unsplash

When I give myself a moment to breathe,

Take myself away from everything,

What do I see,

In the mirror I am a disappointment to me,

Whether it is that email that I missed,

or the feelings I let myself dismiss,

I see myself as a disappointment,

When I spend too much time with one person,

Let my attention to others worsen,

I am a disappointment to myself,

Whether is juggling more than one occupation,

or what I don't do to stand up for my nation,

I am a disappointment to myself,

When I don't call back my grandma,

And want to totally dissolve and withdraw,

I am a disappointment to myself,

When I take on a project I can't finish,

And choose to be a little more selfish,

I am a disappointment to myself,

When I only go halfway,

instead of putting in the time and going all the way,

I am a disappointment in myself,

When I feel utterly and completely lost,

or when I budget out every single cost,

I am a disappointment to myself,

When I don't stand up for what's right,

Because it's better to be quiet than fight,

I am a disappointment to myself,

When I let myself stay in being mediocre,

instead of being my best supporter,

I am disappointed to myself,

I just keep waking up each day,

thinking something will stick and stay,

Where I can find my worth and not be disappointed in myself.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

What a life we live, Lets live a life where we have something to write home about!

27-year-old trying to find meaning, love and a life worth living.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.