Poets logo

Differing Perspectives

Four poems share their truth about one event from different angles

By Brenda MahlerPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Jakob Rosen on Unsplash

One event, the conception of a child, becomes the catalyst for four different verses that share characters’ responses.

These excerpts from Lockers Speak provide a glimpse of how teens respond to events. Events that for some are life changing but for others are simple annoyances to be brushed aside.

Donny Smith

Kirsten’s mom says she is visiting relatives in Chicago

Something about studying at a special school of art

I miss her attention but with her gone

the problem is gone

Life goes on

Katie’s mom says she is too young to date

They let her go to the dance with someone

But only because it was school related

Now,

she doesn’t respond to my texts

Steady girlfriends can be a drag anyway

They weigh a guy down, limit opportunities

I think I’ll just play the field; see what happens

Things always happen,

if you know what I mean

All the guys are hangin’ at a party this weekend

It’s at the church but that doesn’t mean we are Jesus Freaks

There’s a girl, Mary. She’s cute and I kinda like her

I will try to get to know her —

like in the Biblical way

Jett Madden

Kirsten was my first playmate

My first friend

Girlfriend, Kiss, Wife, Love

I wish for our imaginary life as kids

When we got older, we stopped dressing up

and pretending to be married

She smiled and said she loved me

but added, “You’re like my older brother.”

From the first day, we ventured into high school,

She was noticed, a topic of conversation

So naïve, so sweet, so ready for adventure

Inexperienced, Fresh, Exploitable

She confided in me her love for Donny Smith

I watched her stare and smile before he knew she existed

She dressed and giggled to get his attention

Over time, attention she got

Donny noticed her;

He leered at her body as a prize to win

I appreciated her;

I worshiped her like a holy temple

Where other boys saw sexy legs, a slender waist, full breasts,

I saw a beautiful, vulnerable young lady needing to be held

I sat with her when she took the first test,

the second, then the third

I watched her eyes light up with excitement

when she spoke of telling Donny the news

I held her after he asked,

“Can the test be wrong?”

“Are you sure it’s mine?”

I held her tight

Now, I scream,

“It should me mine. She should be mine!”

Kirsten Kelly

Mom doesn’t want my reputation soiled

So, I am off to visit relatives

Visit? Is a prison sentence a visit?

This is cruel and unusual punishment, Ugh!

I just LOVE living with Aunt Helen

And her sappy, puritan family

They don’t even have cable TV

A night out is eating a sandwich at Subway

Like it didn’t hurt enough when I lost the baby

Now, I can’t even talk to Donny

He must be heartsick. I miss him to death

Didn’t even get to say goodbye

My family’s coming next week

They will break the boredom but . . .

Their anxiety, my regret, and a lot of blame

Create a combustible equation

Barb Kelly

Saturday, I am going to the mall to buy that floral mini skirt

maybe some strappy wedges

My new highlights will scream, “I’m here.”

Oh, this is going to be a super summer

Tonight, Sarah and Karli are going to sleepover

Mom agreed to drive us after breakfast

She is kinda sad lately, and I feel kinda bad for her

but the attention is kinda nice for a change

Life is sure different with Kirsten living at Aunt Helen’s

Sometimes it’s hard to be a twin

Especially when she is (no, was) perfect

Well, she isn’t the favorite child anymore

Kirsten wasn’t a virgin before Donny; I wonder if Mom knows

She watches me like a hawk

She will probably never let me date again

It wasn’t me who embarrassed the family

Hmm, maybe we could have

Pizza after shopping.

Then maybe a movie

Life is good

Every occurrence in life is seen and felt differently depending on individuals’ goals, emotions, and expectations. The book Lockers Speak shares life moments from the eyes of high school teens. Now available on Amazon.

Lockers Speak: Voices from America's Youth

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Brenda Mahler

Travel

Writing Lessons

Memoirs

Poetry

Books AVAILABLE ON AMAZON.

* Lockers Speak: Voices from America's Youth

* Understanding the Power Not Yet shares Kari’s story following a stroke at 33.

* Live a Satisfying Life By Doing it Doggy Style explains how humans can life to the fullest.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.