Poets logo

Did You

Unfaithful Unsure

By Daniel Oconnor Published 3 years ago 1 min read
1

It’s quiet now

In this moment and the next

I realise how

I became so perplexed

I was blind you see

To what was happening

Right there in front of me

Like I was struggling

I think that I knew

But wanted to believe

That it wasn’t you

That you wouldn’t leave

But the intent was there

Was written on your face

How you’d blankly stare

Off into space

You were thinking of another

Though you might not have met

It was somebody other

Than me, only yet

I can’t help but wonder

It plays on my mind

If it was all happening under

My nose for sometime

What you’ve now done

To me and to others

Cannot be undone

Or swept under covers

You were brutally honest

Made your intentions quite clear

And me you made promise

That I wouldn’t come near

You sounded quite certain

That my heart would be broken

And knew I’d be hurting

By the words that you’d spoken

But I’m sure they came after

The first time you’d been

In bed with another

And no one had seen

Now you don’t hide it no longer

From the world or from me

It’s making you stronger

Speaking openly

About your plan for the future

One without me

A life that will suit you

And make you happy

But I hope you are not

I hope that you’ll be

In that there same spot

And lonely like me

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Daniel Oconnor

My passion is words, when I write it usually takes no more than half an hour to bring to life what I’m thinking... if I leave it inside my head i obsess over the thoughts and they transform into something I can’t express...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.