Poets logo

Destroyed Security

Vulnerability at its Finest

By Amanda OlejniczakPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

My long hair to hide my face or sometimes the tears falling

I cut it short, then buzzed half of it off to make a point

That I was not afraid of or under the control of him anymore

A blanket to cover the back of my head and side of my face to hide from uncomfortable feelings

Every night I feel the need to hide, as if something in the darkness will get to me if I don’t

My best friend and I comparing traumas, self-harm urges or scars...the desire to just not be

It probably can’t get any more toxic than it is and we don’t care because we’re best friends

My therapist telling me to trust her

I told her I did, but it was a lie

Because I don’t know how to

All the things that used to bring security to me have been taken away

To prove a point

To hurt myself

Or to get hurt...by someone else

Nothing and no one makes me feel safe or secure anymore

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Olejniczak

I am a writer, poet, and proud advocate for mental health. Addtional content I create can be found on Instagram: @amanda_unfiltered or @amanda_unfiltered_poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.