Poets logo

Destiny

“My children will be the works I leave behind.”

By Chris SienerPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Mateus Campos Felipe’s photo of Michelangelo's David in Florence.

Destiny;

A product of environment and desire,

coupled with right timing to seek and acquire.

If it’s your time to take flight,

new tacks and tracks to transpire,

how might one bid aid which you require?

If your next steps are opaque and gray

perhaps it’s best to ponder and pray...

.

To the one Divine

I turn for aid.

Who from the Cross

guide me my trade.

Response to my interpretation of reading parts of ”The World of Michelangelo 1475-1564” by Robert Coughlan, ©️®️1966. As the young artist Michelangelo was somewhat dismissed and discharged from his fathers care as Michelangelo’s pursuit of an Italian marble artistic carving trade was not in his father’s favor. The prayer in this poem is an adaptation of a similar poetic prayer written by Michelangelo in the book reference (in translation).

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Chris Siener

Many poems and posts I write have a nature theme, with family or faith frame of reference. I hope you enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.