Poets logo

Destined

song

By Amber FiercePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Destined
Photo by Robert Katzki on Unsplash

(Intro)

My spirit feels drained... so I meditate and I still remain the same...

then voices play through my head, of the people that I've met, who should my hands and said.

You are going to do amazing things!

Irony, reminded me, if you.

(Chorus)

Why did you make me feel like a question?

How did that make me feel like I was destined to do something great?

Why did you keep me trapped in that place?

A cathedral you called home, stainless glass up on the walls, a choir reciting Ten Commandments of your own.

(Verse 1)

One, a women is a mans slave. She cooks, she cleans, and has to do anything he won't that day.

Two, you can yell at and torment your kids. So long as you repent, get your sun forgiven.

Three, you can't lock your bedroom doors or hide away from me. Even if it's for your privacy.

(Chorus)

Why did you make me feel like a question?

How did that make me feel like I was destined to do something great?

Why did you keep me trapped in that place?

A cathedral you called home, stainless glass up on the walls, a choir reciting Ten Commandments of your own.

(Verse 2)

Four, get on your knees and pray every night in the same way. But if you pray for someone that I hate you'll be questioned and you'll have to pay.

Five, I can make fun of you for your intellect and there's nothing you can do about it. Unless you want to hitchhike to the nearest exit.

Six, if I destroy something I don't have to fix it. Don't have to be nailed on a crucifix. I don't have to admit to it.

(Chorus)

Why did you make me feel like a question?

How did that make me feel like I was destined to do something great?

Why did you keep me trapped in that place?

A cathedral you called home, stainless glass up on the walls, a choir reciting Ten Commandments of your own.

(Verse 3)

Seven, you can't look at another religion or path. No other myths, folklore, or witch craft.

Eight, your gifts of intuition, and psychic will be shunned and my manipulation will make you come undone.

Nine, I'm allowed to cry but you can't. The amount of intoxication that I have is more than a good enough reason for not remembering what I did or what I said.

(Chorus)

Why did you make me feel like a question?

How did that make me feel like I was destined to do something great?

Why did you keep me trapped in that place?

A cathedral you called home, stainless glass up on the walls, a choir reciting Ten Commandments of your own.

(Outro)

Ten.

Oh, ten.

I'll provide you with help, and people you can talk to but you can't speak about me otherwise there will be consequences.

Why did you have to make me believe that I was a question, with magic and and self expression.

I'm destined to do grand things in ways that you wouldn't understand. That's quite unfortunate isn't it Dad.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Amber Fierce

I am a Canadian author. I get most of my inspiration from adrenaline spikes. From participating in extreme sports to going on dopamine enducing adventures. A lot of my ideas come from my dreams, and my songs come from my personal struggles.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.