Poets logo

Destination

TW; addiction

By Alice AdepojuPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

At just a pre-teen my world turned upside down

From feeling unloved by the woman who bore me

To being betrayed by the father I so much adored

Feeling unworthy and useless, I took refuge in the ‘thing’

I ‘thought’ satisfied the pain I felt

As time went by I found that this ‘thing’ was slowly

But surely taking me under

A rush of adrenaline and the pain would be over

For just a split second everything would be rosy and

I would find myself in a completely different dimension

And like a thief in the night

The pain would come creeping back

Only leading me to where I first began

So as time went by this new found ‘drug’ of mine

Would ultimately become my addiction

As I was led down the road of destruction

By the Father of accusations

I found myself enslaved

Trapped and unable to escape

I no longer had control

As my longing for this ‘thing’ grew

Any time I would feel low

It’d be the blade that would glow

Fighting a losing battle

The road I was on seemed never ending

Looking for love in all the wrong places

My deceiver told me to end it

Lost but wanted to be found

Un-loved but needed to be loved

Didn’t know of the greater HIGHER LOVE

My REDEEMER had always had my back

I didn’t find HIM, He found ME

Accepted for who I was

Accepted with all my flaws

I grew to know my SAVIOUR more

He pulled me out of Death’s pit

And gave me ABUNDANT LIFE

Took all darkness away

And replaced it with light

Received his unconditional love

Didn’t have to search no more

My FATHER washed me clean of my sins

Gave me a new beginning

A new reason to live

Took away the shame that seemed to grow within

Ephesians 2:10

States it clearly for you and me

And now I’m a living testimony

All glory to ELOHIM

Living free by his mercy and grace

Living free by his joy and peace

Living free by his unconditional love

I’m free and no more chains have me on lock

Free from death

Free from cutting myself up

Blind but now I see

Dead but now I live

Lost but now I’m found

A girl once with scars

I am now a shining star

He shed his blood for me

So I now live my life FOR him

Made me his ORIGINAL MASTERPIECE

ALL GLORY TO ELOHIM!

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Alice Adepoju

29 year old mama from East London. Educator, mental health advocate and writer.

Saved by grace.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.