Poets logo

Desperate Heart: 3

A love that won't let go

By ian.Published 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Desperate Heart: 3
Photo by Mitchell Hollander on Unsplash

Once upon a time

I reached out

Rough at first

We both were so

angry

And it lasted

It showed in every word we said

Passive aggression

Hostility

Yet hope and heartbreak too

I wanted you to understand

To make you understand

How I felt

Why it mattered

How much I was hurt

Why it still brought tears

In the end

A friend said to me

"you can't make them understand

saying it over again won't help

if you want to stay, then you have

to promise to let it go

at least for the discussion

you said what you felt

it's up to them to listen"

Such difficult words to hear

To have to let go

When I wanted a simple apology

For the way I'd been mistreated

But I cannot force an apology

From you or anyone.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

ian.

Quiet thoughts plant stronger seeds than aggressive force. ian is a poet who has spent most of their time rewriting the world in their head. ian is heavily inspired by nature and loves to be an observer of the world, both urban and natural.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.