Poets logo

DEPRESSION

ESCAPE

By Sonja EdwardsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
DEPRESSION
Photo by Yuris Alhumaydy on Unsplash

ESCAPE

I climbed into my bed, put myself into a ball

Turned my phone down so I wouldn't hear the calls

Too exhausted from crying

I know I will die if I don't keep trying

Someday it will all be over, maybe GOD can tell me why

I had to suffer so much and others seem to thrive

I tried to write some stories that seems to be of no interest

I tried to open a store online I even got turned down by Pinterest

Another day, another rat race

I have to work harder just to keep up the pace

Does depression overwhelmingly keep me in apathy?

Just to feel sadness so deep I can't fathom ever being happy

Some say to see a doctor would make me weak

I say to hold on to so much pain is not progress but bleak

I looked deep within myself of what is reality

To pursue the knowledge of someone who will professionally help me

Did I feel ashamed or even care of what others might say?

I need to have my own happiness and peace of mind instead of dreading each day

I love to tell my story to keep me off a ledge

If ever someone needs help like me who might be on edge

Weeping may endure for a night can seem an eternity

But to learn to love and laugh again the next day can bring solidarity

Depression is a real thing I had to seek help to not let it take over

Only talking about it can save me and others

By Clay Banks on Unsplash

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Sonja Edwards

I am 56 years old. l love God poetry, stories, creating, designing, art, and I have an online store called God's Flourishings No.1.

gods-flourishings-no-1.myshopify.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.