Poets logo

Depressed and Reunited with My Happiness

I now know what it feels like to feel like myself.

By Sara ThomasPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I used to fall asleep with my face soaked in tears.

Tonight, there is only a smile here.

A soft smile, my eyes resting shut,

and my cheeks warm with happiness;

a glow I can now feel within myself.

Happiness-- a feeling I thought had

abandoned me long ago.

But everything lost can be found again.

My happiness feels like sunshine from my soul,

a cathartic candle burning in the night,

and my depression purrs in its light.

I've spent my life fighting a demon that

only wished to be a companion.

A sick and twisted companion,

but one I have learned to accept and love in our own way.

Now, I feel deeper.

I love more fiercely.

I stand up taller.

I speak louder and with the authority of someone who fucking matters

...because we all do.

So tonight I smile,

Because I feel like one with the world.

Messy, twisted, chaotic, peaceful, and

enchanting.

I now know what it feels like

to feel like myself.

After years of feeling lost, I've finally taught

myself how to navigate my own ship,

and love a life at sea.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Sara Thomas

Mixed, optimistic, and depressed MA-based zillennial just out here trying to make you feel things.

We're all a little messed up, and that's okay. Let's be human together<3

UCLA '18 . Art History . Mythology

Book in Progress: Mess of a Human

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.