Poets logo

Departed

Separate Paths

By Kate GraftonPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Departed
Photo by Jens Lelie on Unsplash

Many years have passed us by

And I don’t know you anymore.

But long ago you did catch my eye

yet we went through our own doors.

There was much I never said

And perhaps that is for the best

Inside the love inside usboth is dead

And my heart is now at rest.

Here I am again, but in cheer

For I finally found Love

He is for sure my dear

Letting me fly like a dove.

You have no idea the pain you have caused

But why should you?

I was the one who, for just a second, paused

And never gave you a clue.

Try to forget me and I will you

You never will understand what has happened.

There is nothing left to do

Love is not ever easy

Especially when there is pain

The very thought could make me queasy

To know that love is insane.

Never wanted anything more

But to feel with my heart.

That is now just a bore

For in the heart love will always depart.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kate Grafton

I love writing poetry and fantasy stories. In high school I wrote my first novella and continue to write more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.