Poets logo

Delta India Delta

Dissociative Identity Disorder

By Nichole M. WilldenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

He views the world

from behind my eyes, reaching,

wondering, calculating. As calculating as I

could ever be.

I fade.

I whisper, “See me!” I run

through the stacks, looking

at piled volumes of the memories,

knowledge that already belongs

to me. He pursues me.

I trot through

the stacks, looking over

my shoulder.

Wondering how close he is.

And then I’m looking out

through his eyes.

Through my eyes.

And he’s speaking.

“Are you okay?”

“Are we okay?”

And I sigh. I always sigh.

“I’m not

ready yet.”

I hide behind

the stacks. I touch the window.

I can see his entire

world splayed out

in front of me. The breeze

on the back of my neck is

not from his window, though.

The breeze is from

the other window.

The one–one of

the ones–that I’m trying

to avoid.

I can feel it tickling

my ears, whispering

against my temple: “Here I am.”

“Are you okay?”

he asks again. But it’s not him,

this time.

This time, it’s me.

I’m asking

myself.

I’m asking my past.

I’m asking the window

behind me

from whence the wind blows.

He fades.

I hear the answer. “No.”

Like a scream torn

away on a gale. Like a

whisper from behind

encompassing fingers.

Like a voice bubbling

up inside me that I never

knew

I always knew

was there.

“No.”

No.

No.

I’m not okay.

We’re not okay.

I’m on the outside

now.

​ Looking in.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Nichole M. Willden

Nichole M. Willden is a poet, writer, and author of The Guild series. A survivor of indoctrination and abuse, Nichole has spent decades writing fiction that sizzles with themes of enslavement, hope, and resilience.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.