Poets logo

Déjà Vu

Why do I feel like I've been here before?...

By Josh MorganPublished 11 months ago 2 min read
1
Déjà Vu
Photo by Morica Pham on Unsplash

Déjà Vu, I know I've been here before, a familiar scene
There's a man by the river and I've seen him before, I can hear his silent scream
Demons are all over his phone- temptation is calling
He's falling- down the rabbit hole and into the darkness
He's falling- in love with the devil and all of her red flags
The bad habits are coming back out the bag
Caught in a whole lot of trouble, He's lost in the rubble-
Of what used to be a good man, but he won't tell them- with what sins he struggles
Something he knows he doesn't want but still so appalling
Focused on the wrong things- it all comes out in the songs that he sings
Stuck on repeat- caught in a loop, that makes life feel like a trip
There's no falling from his lowest point, so this must be it
Back again at the breaking point, if he goes any further he's not coming back
Staring into a star-less sky- all he can see is black
Trapped in his head under constant attack
If he falls apart one more time the pieces aren't going back together again
The last time his heart came apart he promised himself it wouldn't happen again
He can't remember- the last time the clouds were apart, but he's used to the rain
Stuck in the storm, blown around in the wind like a feather-
With no way of escape, everyday feels the same
Never better nor worse- Life is a witch, and he's stuck under her curse, she's playing a game
Can't get in contact with sleep but her cousin is calling his name
The loneliest nights last into the day, his daydreams and nightmares are one in the same
Over and over again, all the days are the same
Déjà Vu is a curse, but he's grown numb to the pain
In the face of fear fighting for faith, but brute force can only take him so far
Running as fast as he can but he's caught in a circle- How has he fallen so far?
Back in the same place as before, and as close to the edge as can be
Standing there looking over, I wonder what's stopping him
What's bringing him back to this place so repeatedly?
Standing there, staring into the river... He wants to be carried away
Hopes and dreams have long washed away, but he carries on anyway
Walking away I hope he's okay...
But when I look in the mirror, who looks back at me with the emptiest stare-
Is the same man I saw by the river- That's where I've seen him before
This is the loop, the the inescapable curse we know as Déjà Vu

inspirationalsocial commentarysad poetry
1

About the Creator

Josh Morgan

I began writing as a means of expressing creativity, relieving stress, and venting emotions. I mention my daily battle with mental health a lot, I hope it is relatable and inspiring to readers, as writing is something I'm passionate about.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.