Poets logo

Debris

A poem.

By Yanto AddaPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

There was debris falling

Clumps of stone, of concrete

I was stumbling, on the phone, trying to hail a taxi

This is how it arrives, the end

As we are thinking about the washing or

Arranging a dental appointment. Or apprehending a taxi app next to a collapsing building

On this occasion, though, I was not ended

I remain undeathed for a while more

I blinked a lot, saw the sky. The wind sent tremors through the trees

Later, when I finally caught a taxi, the driver asked me if I had heard the news

I nodded once, sad and factual

I dared not speak about the debris

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Yanto Adda

There were three cats that congregated on the roof of the house at the corner of the apartment block, uncoiling in the sun, eyes closed, breathing calm and slow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.