Poets logo

Death's Embrace

A Tale of Life

By Joseph K Manibusan JrPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I've been stuck in a lucid dream

I can barely breath

As the oxygen starts to leave

My body is floating and fighting

It feels like lightning

As my lungs are gasping for life

I feel a sharp pain of agony

As my blood turns cold, I feel warm

I do not know who I am

I do not know where I am

I wish that I could wake up

Cause my heart keeps pounding

Faster and faster it goes

My mind goes blank, and I feel like I'm drowning

Down, down, spiraling down

I feel dizzy though I'm on solid ground

Wish, waiting, hoping

I clutch my chest begging for escape

Is this the end

As the blood rushes from my head

I feel the sinking feeling

Its rushing and brimming with beauty

As I feel the abysmal agony

I can't go on I say

As the fog starts to drift slowly in

Thicker and thicker it flows

Endlessly and relentlessly

Did I find my heavenly release

Or the did I find the deepest confines of hell

When I wake

I ponder these questions

Was it all real or was it just a dream

I look out my window

With a transfixed gaze of horror

My soul is slowly being sucked away

It wasn't a dream so much as it was the reality

I wanted to struggle, and I tried to fight

But I finally gave up and jumped

I jumped into Death's stretched out arms

It had no substance it had no life

I couldn't see the ground and

I couldn't see the light

All was dark, and life was life

Death was sweet and kind

To the beggar man that died

Searching for the beauty

In a life that was never his own

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Joseph K Manibusan Jr

Future Graduate at Full Sail University for creative writing for entertainment

A love for words and books

https://linktr.ee/JoeKManiJR

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.