Poets logo

Death Doesn't Scare Me

Overcoming odds

By Savannah Rose HannumPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Death Doesn't Scare Me
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

I've lived through more trauma than many have known.

Heartache and fear,

these feel like home.

Death doesn't scare me,

my daughter's a ghost.

I've danced with the devil,

held him remarkably close.

Lost many a friend to death and betrayal,

sacrificed for those who wished me ill.

Crawled out of hell,

battered and torn,

only to find the demons still lurk.

They dance in the corners,

catching my eyes.

They beg me to join,

no, not this time.

The music is sweet,

it leaves me feeling numb.

I'll live with these demons,

but I won't succumb,

The temptation is strong,

I want to give in,

But growth doesn't come from acting on whims.

I've overcome insurmountable odds.

The deck may be stacked,

but the cards are my own.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.