Poets logo

Death Before Dishonor

"The good die young ..."

By Michael N. ChinPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1

Bullets blaze in the darkness of the night

No choices left but to defend and fight

Blood spilt on the coldness of the ground

As silent voices become the only sound

Cradled in my arms as he fell upon me

His death drawing near for all to see

Blood on the pavement as blood on my hand

His life ticking away like an hourglass of sand

His life taken away as we couldn’t believe

From death’s bullets he volunteered to receive

Twas meant for me and not for him

Twas meant for me not his life to dim

Anger and hatred fumed in my heart

As I raged in fury as his soul departs

My eyes faded to black as full as the moon

Vengeance was the fuel due to come soon

Screaming and crying for the brother I have lost

Revenge I would take at any given cost

I lashed at one and then upon another

As I could not be stopped to avenge my brother

Rage defeated the enemies one after another as they fall

My energies of rage depleted as we made the final call

I fell to the ground as emotions ran through my mind

As for peace, comfort and forgiveness I prayed to find

The sirens screamed across the highway of many lanes

Soon a downpour of tears as the dark sky rains

Twas this the beginning of the final end

As I prayed to God for an angel to send

Watch after him Lord I prayed

I wished that he would have stayed

Twas meant for me but why for he

Twas meant for me and for me to be

Watch after him Lord for he is with you now

I shall fight the system and take the final bow

No more of this hell; I shall close this case

I shall end it all or my soul you can take

I shall end it all this life to live for never

I shall end it all this life to live forever

I will do whatever I can whatever it will take

Even if it is my life and heart I must break

Farewell my brother for loving and saving my life

Farewell my brother next time I shall take the knife

I shall forever live as you will never be forgotten

I shall forever live for you in this cold world gone rotten

~ Michael N. Chin, circa 1998

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Michael N. Chin

Welcome to my collection poetry, prose, and writings. My base writings are of life, love, stories, philosophies, and inspirationals to bring my life's experiences and thoughts to the forefront. Life is too short. Don't miss its adventures!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.