Poets logo

Death

A Personification Poem

By Katelyn PaigePublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I am death.

I will greet you in silence

Hold your hand right in mine

I will give you a hug

As you’re saying goodbye

I am hated by some

And sought by others

Though I never endure pain

Only instant relief of suffering

I work everyday

No holidays or sick days

Though I hate war

For my hours are extra long and busy

I’ve been to all the biggest world catastrophes

And carried off all the greatest people

I’ve even had tea with the queens

People usually panic

Though it never seems to help

They try to escape from me

Yet it never does work out

They also try to out run me

Yet I always win the race

I have always been watching you

With binoculars from above

I am the shadow you see in the distance

And the bright white light that will soon consume you

I always come close to greeting you with open arms

Telling you about my day

Yet right when I’m about to tie a friendship bracelet on

You quickly slip away

Don’t worry

Your time will soon come

However before I pick you up for our never ending sleepover

I encourage you to be peaceful and live fully

Don’t forget about me though, I will not forget about you

I am death.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.