Poets logo

Dear Reader

a confession

By Daniel IngramPublished about a year ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2023
48
Dear Reader
Photo by CHIRAG K on Unsplash

Dear Reader,

If I ever loved you, just know that I still do.

When the rain taps at my window, and I fall asleep watching the tiny flame of a citrus scented candle,

I will nearly always dream of how you used to speak to me in the words of all your favorite songs.

And it just made sense because, even now, your voice is music to my ears.

Dear Reader,

Though our paths no longer run parallel to each other the way they did when we would play tetris with our fingers,

I still admire your footprints in the sand as though you were holy, and I, devout.

It seems as though it was always cold when I met you, but somehow the heat between us was like summer,

and these days I still blush when I think of all the tender places our lips have traveled together.

Dear Reader,

My skin may have been worn thick and callous and hard, but like my thoughts, my heart remains soft,

as though to say, "Welcome home. Here, you can rest."

I'll always keep space just for you and every heavy word of every vulnerable conversation.

Dear Reader,

It's not that I wish to drudge up the past, but rather, that I wish to hang it on my walls because, to me,

you are art, and I know this because no matter how stuck I may ever feel, I am moved by you.

Dear Reader,

Long story short- If you ever loved me,

I hope that you still do.

performance poetrysad poetrylove poems
48

About the Creator

Daniel Ingram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Annie Edwards 5 months ago

    This is beautiful

  • Linda Marryabout a year ago

    I still love you ;)

  • Som Duttabout a year ago

    amazing

  • VIDHYASAGARabout a year ago

    Excellent 👍🤩

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    Looking forward to more of your work - its a bit bloody good!

  • Great job 🎯💯❤️❗❗❗ Congratulations on Top Story✌️🎉

  • Ash Taylorabout a year ago

    beautiful work

  • Dori H.about a year ago

    I hope you realize that you are brilliant!

  • ken Petiabout a year ago

    love it

  • Amanda Habout a year ago

    Well, this made my cry. Good work! Wow so full of emotion!

  • Devyn Marie about a year ago

    brought tears to my eyes. Thank you

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    How romantic!

  • JBazabout a year ago

    I am a strong believer in picture enhancing the story. Yours was perfect as are your words. Visual and beautiful

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Wow, you have a beautiful way with words, such talent. This was filled with so many memorable lines, but I think this was my favorite, 'that I wish to hang it on my walls because, to me, you are art'. Congrats on the Top Story, you've got a new subscriber :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.