Poets logo

Dear Mom

Write a letter to your mom. Tell her something you’ve always wanted to say, but haven’t been able to.

By Manisha DhalaniPublished about a year ago 2 min read
1
Dear Mom
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

A keystyle I wrote in 2005 on Mother’s Day. It was something I was trying to say for a very long time and finally decided to use some sort of poetry to do it. She was touched.

I love you..

Now, you would think this would be just another mushy piece

But don’t jump on it too fast, take your time to understand this

Because every word written has pierced my heart like a sword

Jabbed through my chest, because she wasn’t in my thoughts..

I’m talking about someone special – a lady who brought me up

She grabbed me by my fingers and thought me how to get up

Stand up on my own two feet, and be responsible for what I do

She told me to not be like her, disrespected and treated like a fool..

A so-called fool who led a life the way she never wanted it to be

As fate slaps her on the face, the liquid in her eyes run out slowly

And now I sit here, thinking of all the things she ever said to me

Why didn’t I cry when I left home? I regret leaving her to be

All alone she is now, living with a man known as my father

He’s at home with her but she’s still lonely without her daughters..

She is no other than the mother who carried me around her womb

Nine months I tortured her, but she continued waiting for me to bloom

The same nine months that I’ve lived without seeing her smile

Mum, I miss you, but whatever happens I tell myself not to cry

Because if I do, I couldn’t stand if you did the same, it’ll just be wrong

I never said I love you, simply because I was trying to be strong

I didn’t want to appear like a weak child, and leave you with no hope

I’m the son you never had, trying to help around so you could cope

I’ve not done a good job – all I’ve done is bring you pain and disgrace

I just have a bad habit of being messy and liking everything you distaste

So I love hanging around with guys but it’s not because of what you think

I just don’t enjoy being around girls with mini skirts, or those who like pink

I have different likings mum, I was born upside down, remember?

Why can’t you see that I’m unique? – I’m sorry if I’m a bit too sombre..

I’m going to end by saying sorry, I love you and I miss you a lot

No matter what, I’m always going to be your little baby, so fret not!

I may be far away from you and I hardly say and do what I’m supposed to

But I’m trying my best to make you and dad proud, and everyone else too.

www.manishadhalani.com

love poems
1

About the Creator

Manisha Dhalani

Content writer and marketer helping solopreneurs achieve organic growth. Loves reading, eating cake, and having insightful conversations.

www.manishadhalani.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment
  • This comment has been deleted

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.