Poets logo

Dear Me

letter to myself

By Rebecca K Published 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Dear Me …

The me I used to be...

I need you to know that it was not my intention

To fall down so many times and hurt you

I could say "It just made you stronger"

But that's not what this is about

I have done the best I can to make good choices

I have done the best with what I have been given

To say things have not been simple is an understatement

There were things I said you deserved

Learn, grow, but there was so much I didn't know

I am still learning and growing

Dear me…

The me I am today…

Keep the golden heart but be more cautious

Don't give everything to just anyone

Don't let your light burn out

Keep your head high

Dear me…

The me I want to be…

Continue to grow and change everyday

Continue working hard for what you want

Do not forget but do your best to forgive

Don’t look down, hold your head high

Do not fear your emotions…

Own them and embrace them - even share them

Do not forget who you are

Don’t forget where you came from

Do not settle for less

You deserve nothing but the best

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Rebecca K

As a lover of arts and the the truth I enjoy writing. It allows me to express myself while sharing life lessons, precious moments and even the unspeakable moments. I encourage feedback on my posts so feel free to speak your mind. Thank you

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.