Poets logo

Dear Jane

Letter for Jane Eyre

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
4
Dear Jane
Photo by Unseen Studio on Unsplash

Dearest Jane,

I am unseen and faraway, yet I had hoped my letters and poems would be enough to keep you close to me. I am so angry that this dark Raven closed you off from me. Her snake like control(which is on the outside seeming like a loving person, even to me at times!) and her chasm-like vacuum sucks me from my very soul and heart, my love and my dreams. You. Yes, you, my dearest Jane. My heart and my best friend.

I try to forgive, and I am forgiving, too forgiving with her—this has what had brought me to this truly strange and uneasy end. She is changing only now, only when I threaten to embark on a new and interesting story for myself and never to return, does she finally change. I have been fighting to leave her for the past several months, and yet, she manipulates and causes such a huge drama I am forced back into my cage. It truly enrages my senses that the darkness and cruelty I had endured for endless hours, and countless times, amounting in tears and years of suffering—was all fixed on a whim to control the decisions of a man who needed to regain control in his life.

I am very proud of your strength and I am very appreciative of your prayers, as I feel the energy within them as I know what you say is true when you say you pray for me everyday—and it’s a heartwarming feeling.

If this is truly the time for you to depart from me, I cannot lie and say I will not fight it and keep writing to you. I shall keep writing to you. But, ever still, you have your right to not respond. Though, I implore and hope you do, as long as it does not cause you harm or distress.

The small time we knew each other was very important to me and deep and meaningful and I appreciate you and our talks. The time was about quality, not quantity. I know you can appreciate this sentiment better than most.

Do you ever read my unrelated published papers, Jane? I wonder if you critique them as you had before. I wonder what you truly think of the papers I publish to the editors and to the local news-post station. I rather would love your opinion, as your opinion mattered to me most. I would also love to know the title of your most beautiful work with the blood-drinker and the beautiful angel in the city that was like a jungle.

What is that title? What art gallery may I view it? I miss that astonishingly Perfect piece so very much.

I miss you so very much, too.

Love,

Edward

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    a beautiful tribute to the deep and meaningful connection between two people

  • ✨❤️📝😉

  • Muhammad Naveedabout a year ago

    melissa ! you are simply good nice work here is one for you https://vocal.media/poets/the-beauty-in-every-curve

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.