Poets logo

Dear Housemates

A letter to my housemates

By J. R. LowePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
7

Dear housemates,

I came home again this morning,

And couldn’t help but smell the stench

Of the food stains that were left

Across the kitchen bench.

.

I know it seems obscure,

But to wipe it once or twice,

May help you to procure

A house that has no mice.

.

There were dishes in the sink,

And floors were left upswept,

Your clothes were on the ground,

And the living room was left unkept.

.

It’s come to my attention

That the dog is more hygienic,

And that there’s no intention

To make the place more scenic.

.

You survive off Uber Eats,

And I do not mean to judge,

But if you could throw out the trash when finished,

I’d throw away my grudge.

.

You leave the bath so dirty,

Even bleach cannot un-soil it,

But worst of all is when you don’t

Flush the f%&#^$@ toilet.

.

Even though you are all terrible

At keeping the place clean,

I suppose you have some qualities,

That you can redeem.

.

The nights we stay up talking,

About what’s wrong with life,

And the days we end up walking,

Help me with my strife.

.

I suppose I should say thank you

For not leaving me alone,

And even though you’re messy,

We’ve made this place our home.

.

I know you’re not bad people,

And there’s worse habits you could adopt,

But would it kill you to now and then,

Make sure the floors are mopped?

.

I hope that when you come home,

You’ll give your plates a wash,

Yours truly, with love and frustration,

Your favourite housemate - Josh

love poems
7

About the Creator

J. R. Lowe

By day, I'm a PhD student, by night.... I'm still a PhD student, but sometimes I procrastinate by writing on Vocal. Based in Australia.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Ktabout a year ago

    ah, the roommate struggle! The bane of single's existence!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.