Poets logo

Dear Heart,

A letter to a fragile heart

By Sara WilsonPublished 11 months ago โ€ข 1 min read
3

Dear Heart,

For the very first time, I can feel you start to beat.

He makes you feel alive again because he is so sweet.

For the very first time, you don't feel numb and cold.

Something that's inside of him makes you feel like gold.

For the very first time, I can feel you start to mend.

Something tells me you know he'll be more than just a friend.

For the very first time, the cracks begin to seal.

Logic tells me that it's fake, you tell me that it's real.

For the very first time, you don't feel like you are breaking.

If you could speak, you'd tell him, "I'm yours for the taking!"

For the very first time, you feel like you're brand new.

If I let you, I think you'd say, "Jerimiah, I love you!"

For the very first time, you don't want to hide.

When I try to push him out, you let him inside.

For the very first time, you finally feel alive,

Something tells me you're excited that he has arrived.

For the very first time, I can feel you pounding in my chest.

You're telling me to let him in, he's not like the rest.

For the very first time, you simply won't be quiet.

I try and tell you that I'm scared, you say, "Shut up and try it!"

For the very first time, you're telling me there's hope.

I asked you if you were afraid, you said he helps you cope.

So, Heart, I'm gonna trust you. I'm gonna let him in.

I'm not gonna fight anymore. Game over. You win.

Arizona- 2012

I wrote this in 2012 when I met my now husband. I was so scared and so excited all at the same time. If you're ever scared to fall in love, don't be. It's so worth it. Even during the bad times. I have always found comfort in knowing they won't last and that the best is yet to come. Every day with him has been worth it. Every struggle. Every accomplishment. Every mile stone. Every set back. I'd choose him again and again. -Sara

love poems
3

About the Creator

Sara Wilson

Lover of the strange and unusual. I write mostly horror or true crime. I occasionally publish other things, but try not to write only for the sake of having content. Feedback is always welcome and appreciated!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    Beautiful and romantic without being cheesy! I felt every line!

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    This was so beautiful! I felt the excitement and fluttering of the heart that comes with new love. ๐Ÿฅนโค๏ธ Amazing work!

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    You captured those new relationship feelings perfectly. This was quite lovely :)

  • Poppy 11 months ago

    This is beautiful. The rhythm and flow is perfect!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.