Poets logo

Dear coffee

Amazing poetry on coffee

By Mohd FahimPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Dear coffee
Photo by Brigitte Tohm on Unsplash

dear coffee,

it’s not you

it’s me

the sun is out

morning birds sing

all the clocks whisper

and paw at your name

why can’t I have you?

don’t you dare say decaf

it is not the same

mania is back

and you don’t help

no amount of sugar

no sweet candied cream

no I can’t drink you black

please, don’t do this

quit begging me

you’re making a scene

ok, maybe just a sip

just this once

a sip

a swallow

this brain is now mush

this lightning storm feeling

what a **** trip!

I’ll run, swim, chase, and follow

this tasty rabbit

down any dark hole

no lights

no warning bells

my landing gear wrapped

in rusty, twisted metal

my wheels worn thin

too many flights

too many sins

the jump button isn’t there

manic me drifting and existing

and that goddamned

cup of coffee

that gorgeous steam

blowing gorgeous kisses

the air around you feels soft

a pillowtop dream

you sit strong, in my favorite mug

the pond water blue one with the ridged edges and chipped handle

you’ll keep persisting

I’ll keep resisting

coffee, it’s not you

it’s manic me

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.