Poets logo

Dear Clouds

poetry

By Muhammad IqbalPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Dear Clouds
Photo by Zbynek Burival on Unsplash

DEAR CLOUDS

Pock me with sticks you found on the road side

I am your chew toy

Spit at my face and tell me my worth

I am worth nothing

I don't dare look up when the ground is my best company

So when you pass by and you see me laying sprawled on the concrete floor

It is not by accident

It is not that you just happened to see me at a bad time

No

That is what I call my home

I spend my days Plastered to the ground studying shoe prints left by strangers that speed-walked passed me to avoid the reek of the poor

I have gotten used to the scent of the earth

When I was exiled to live alone

And the only shelter I could own...were the clouds.

I found out that kindness was cut out from humanity's manual book

So I do not beg anymore

I know it has no use

I realized People stopped looking down a long time ago

They could as easily walk over me as they do these dusty roads.

When the only food I could find

Were those the rats left me

I do not seek mercy

Atleast not from humans

I regret the day I argued with an old man when he told me that humans Were the most vicious creatures of them all

Cause I understand now...that he wasn't wrong.

I used to blame my parents for what my fate brought

The people that had no right to leave me When they were the ones who brought me here without my choice

But I guess

There is no reason to cry over spilt milk

So I let that go.

Dear clouds,

I thank you for the home you've made me

I hope the gods above you aren't like the gods down here

I hope they see my clean soul and not my dirty cloth

I hope they see that my hands are empty but my heart is full

Dear clouds,

When I one day leave the surface and see what is above

I hope you show me all the things this world isn't made of

For I've only known of pain and hurt

For I know not of joy or love.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.