Poets logo

Dear Bluebird

"A Summer Sonnet"

By Rebecca Lynn IveyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3

White butterflies glide through scented air, on but rice paper wings; thou are so delicate and fair. Hovering just above sweet summer grass; the little bees whisper such nonsensical things. As the soft twilight hours come to pass; Dear bluebird, please sing a song for me, little lass. Must I tiptoe through the cool dew beads to admire thee within thy nest? May I propose to you sweet sunflower seeds and observe the horizon that you caress? Thy sweet melody echos throughout the summer's heat; Oh, how this sweet, sweet day is but a dream. Please sing to me your ballad neath the moon we meet; lest you deny me your tune within her beam. How I love thy melody so soft and sweet. With beaded eyes that look of glass, she slowly met my gaze. She sang to me from within the tree, adjoined by her choir. Such is why I love these summer days and the happiness that I acquire.

nature poetry
3

About the Creator

Rebecca Lynn Ivey

I wield words to weave tales across genres, but my heart belongs to the shadows.

🖤Visit My Website

💙Visit Me On Facebook

❤️Heart and subscribe!

💲Tips mean the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.