Poets logo

Dear Black People,

an open letter

By Jojo HPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I used to have conversations with God.

I asked Him to give me an ear to hear Him more clearly

and,

He revealed Himself to me.

His voice came in waves to me,

Sometimes radio silence.

Other times blatant manifestos of His prophecy.

In the wading I carried pain.

I upheld more than I thought I could ever conquer at the time

I picked up my brothers and sisters pain as well,

the welts from the licks on their backs rose up in me.

UJIMA: To build and maintain our community together and to make our Brother's and sister's problems, our problems and to solve them together.

A commitment to active and informed togetherness on matters of common interest.

I heard the cries from the war zone echo behind eyelid.

They will never understand us.

They will never humanize our pain.

They strip the bones and see still nothing.

But God told me a word.

He told me that

It is Written.

and Dear Black People,

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Jojo H

radical black youth. fighter of injustice. future doctor. hopeless romantic.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.