Poets logo

Dear Anxiety

You must really 'love' me, don’t you?

By Young Poetic QueenPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Dear Anxiety,

You must really “love” me, don’t you?

You’re with me everyday,

and you always show up even when I don’t expect you.

Why don’t I just wear a sign that says “I have anxiety”?

You would creep up on me like a snake,

slowly, steadily, like as if you want to sedate me.

But no,

You would just do the opposite.

Whenever there was a fight between you and me

You would always win.

You always had the last laugh

and you always made me feel sorry for myself.

Well guess what anxiety?

It’s over between us.

It’s not me, it’s you!

You don’t love me. You just love what you do to me.

I am done!

I’m done with you,

I’m done with what you’re doing to me,

and I am absolutely done with how I’m affected by you!

Anxiety, with you it’s like a chess game.

Just when I think I’m about to win,

You knock me over and defeat me.

But this time,

I have won!

So I am very proud to say,

“Goodbye”.

Goodbye Anxiety,

And if you try to come back into my life, you will not win.

Sincerely,

Your former victim.

P.S. Check mate

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Young Poetic Queen

My name is Yemima Kebede and I am Young Poetic Queen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.