Poets logo

Dead Roses

Now I'm The Dying Rose

By ArthyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Dead Roses
Photo by Philipp Sewing on Unsplash

We were once beautiful together at the beginning

We grew at different paces but we became complementary to each other

Took turns to open up to one another

Survived the hottest days, the coldest nights, and the hardest storms with you by my side

But over time things started to fall apart

We fought one last storm together before I watched you die away

The raindrops broke off your petals and this time I couldn’t do anything to fix it

I slowly watched you decay away

I felt heartbreak for the first time

I couldn’t feel this awful feeling once more

So I grew thorns so no one would hurt me

Closed myself off to everyone and let myself rot

A realization came to me one day

I wasn’t the same beautiful rose I was before

I blame this all on you

Because when you left you took a piece of me

And because of you, I’m a dying rose

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Arthy

Hi, Thanks for reading my writing! ig: axrthy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.