Poets logo

Dead Poet

My last breath was not despair, no, it was poetry...

By Penny BlakePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
10
image from www.freeimages.com by Troy Stoi

Romanticise my poverty

Make me your project

Your Virtue Flag

Your Drum

Bang me

Loud

For the crowd

Or in your own echo chamber

Your private show

Shh

Smug smiling inwards

“Only we know...”

Romanticise my many lives

And dream my streetlife

A gangster's paradise

A cardboard kingdom

Heaven's Gate

And validate

My disenfranchised state

As freedom

Choice

And in that tainted light

Lend me your stage

To raise, for once, my Voice

I could step away

Refuse to play

This game

Shrug off the pretty mask

That hides my shame

Crack the glass

And let the dull reality

Of my grey, mundane

Filthy, immoral, non-PC

Base, desperate, snarling

Two fingers up salute

Up in your face

And two in your back pocket

Fishing for your wallet

Reality

Would you walk away?

You may.

So

Romanticise my poverty

Dream me a bohemian backdrop

For my starving frame

Paint my squalid squat

In beatnik vogue

And please, please, please

Do not refrain

From telling them,

When this world's done with me

My last breath was not despair

Or pain

No

It was poetry...

social commentary
10

About the Creator

Penny Blake

Story topics: Natural Living, Equality, Diversity, Geek Culture.

I write and review non-fiction and fiction that explores science,

culture, identity and power.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.