Poets logo

Dead Inside

I will be ok

By A J BarkerPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1

Dead inside

Blood is pumping through my veins

I am alive

But I am dead inside

I am walking but I am not connected

My body is all it is

The life-force within me has gone

I am here but I am not

People and children

Separate from me

No longer any bond of humanity

I hear but the sound is distant

It is cold, snowy hills

But for once I can’t feel it

Not whinging or shivering

Nothing

My eyes are open

But I cant see anymore

There is a filter

Even the sun cant penetrate

The world is now like watching a movie

I am not in it

I am just watching from the side-lines

Bradford buildings

That usually amaze me

And I look at with awe and wonder

Are no longer that

Just grey and ugly

Dull and dingy

Like I feel inside

People look at me but my eyes are hollow

No longer the doorway to my soul

They are empty

Shrouded in darkness

Life-less

Lifeless and avoiding

I need to reconnect but I dont know how

This place scares me

I feel trapped and alone

Where is god?

Who I found and rejoiced in

No faith in you anymore

Unless you show me a sign

No! No hope at all

Hunger even evades me

I know I need to eat

Need the strength to carry on

But I don't care for this body

It is no longer me

Disconnected

I feel nothing

I am in some kind of trance

Every part of me tingles

Like pins and needles

I can feel my body

But that is all

It doesn’t feel like me

My senses are heightened

Sounds are shrill

Touch electrifying

But I also feel dulled

NUMB

Totally and utterly vibrating on another plane

A body and a brain

Missing my soul

The part that makes me, me

I need to get grounded

I need nature

I need to see such beauty that it reignites me

I need a miracle basically

I cant think straight

If at all

My brain and heart are severed

Thoughts and feelings no longer aligned

My mind lets me feel nothing

It can't deal with the intensity

The crippling pain

Worse than death

Because I am still alive

Living this hell

I seek something more

I have to keep going

I need to find a flicker of light

Solitude helps

Time to look inside myself

Try to find something

To cling to

So I don't drown

I feel dead inside

But I will survive

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

A J Barker

I love writing poetry! Initially just for me, a cathartic exercise where I could express my feelings safely. Now I share my work: my goal to write for a living so I write, avidly, knowing the only way I will become a writer is if I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.