Poets logo

Dead Girl Walking

Narrative poem of the day I died

By Sarah MontgomeryPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

April 21st, 2010

A day forever in my mind.

This day changed my life

To where it will never

be the same again.

See this was the day

That I had died.

I came back obviously,

for here I stand.

Or I could be a ghost,

refusing to pass on.

The day in question started normal.

A field trip to Columbus

With my 4th grade class.

It was fun and educational.

When we came back to school,

It was overcast, dark and gloomy.

I’d had a bad feeling all day.

I shouldn’t have discredited it.

Twenty minutes later,

I laid in a heap.

Broken and shattered in the street.

The metal 4-wheeled culprit idled ahead.

People flocked screaming and upset.

I just laid there calmly.

Numb from the shock of it all.

Paramedics arrived and had to move me.

My world exploded into astronomical pain.

Every road bump we hit,

And touch of their fingers

made me scream like a banshee.

In the ER trying to rest,

3 AM started to bring death.

My leg had swollen 3 times it's size.

Trapped inside a plaster cast .

Didn’t allow for much room, you see.

My tiptoes split.

Doctors and nurses rushed in .

Ripping and cutting at my cast.

Trying to remove it.

I needed surgery.

As I raced down the hall ,

I was screaming my head off.

They injected meds into me .

Trying to give me an escape.

But my adrenaline was pumping ,

And it wasn’t working.

They had to cut my leg ,

To relieve the pressure.

They cut while I was awake

Making me scream and cry.

But that pain was nothing

Compared to the next.

The right side of my left leg

Was cut straight with a scalpel.

But the left side

Split wide open

All the way to the bone.

The meds started working by then ,

I was slowly fading out .

The last words I heard ,

“We may have to amputate.”

I was out cold at the time.

But I was told,

Halfway through the surgery ,

I flat-lined.

“Too much stress on my little body.”

That's what the doctors said.

I was dead and gone ,

For a full 8 minutes.

Obviously they brought me back ,

For here I stand.

But that day,

Forever changed my life.

Now I have scars ,

And permanent damage,

And my body will never

Work the way it used to.

People think death is scary ,

And I would have to agree.

I shouldn’t have come back,

And yet here I am.

People say I shouldn’t act so nonchalant.

But to me I think it’s cool ,

To be a dead girl walking around

When I should’ve been in the ground.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Montgomery

Hello Everyone! I am a 27 year old aspiring poet & writer. I have 3 poems currently published & am going for more! I enjoy writing poetry, emotional pieces, satirical, & on occasion informative pieces. Hope you enjoy & have a wonderful day!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.