Poets logo

Days and Nights

Kiba Williams

By WriteOutLOudPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

Can it get me through the Day and Night

Every second on my mind that passes by

Reflecting on the past, worrying about my future

Just to stay in line

I have to stay focused

Before I run out of time

But this tidal wave, got my mind stuck

Feeling hypnotised

Thinking about what happened back in 2017

That’s when my path started

On my way journeying to my dream

Had to dive in head first

Now entering a world of struggles that I’m constantly in between

But It’s all for endurance

Just to reach to my ultimate dream

People want me to be ecstatic but they don’t know I’m dealing with stress

I had to break ties with my family who wanted to put my dreams to rest

They live in a life of oblivity making it hard to vent

So I keep it up all bottled up instead of trying to confess

They want to throw a distraction in my face

Then preach to it like it’s Almighty God

But to me I think it wastes time

That can’t beat all the odds

All it is something that will put my life on pause

Not a solution that’ll help me get to the top

I keep my dreams in mind

Working my way up with an ideal

Stay positive and remain diligent

Until it’s no longer a dream and becomes real

Taking any opportunity given

Forging my own fate and sealed

Don’t throw no distractions in my way

Cause how can it help me?

How can it get me through the day?

What can stop the gloom from the stress?

How can it stop the rain?

I got problems on my mind that just won’t go away

Filling me up anxiety, keeping me up at night

Typing away until I can see a clear path

Until it vanishes along with this fright

Keep on writing out my heart

Until it’s out of sight of mind

I look at my dream as if it were a game of chess

Pondering on strategic moves I should take

And how i’ll become my very best

Looking at the bigger picture

Finally deciding on the move that comes next

I try to avoid mistakes like impulses

Ignore them like the plague

They’re like rip currents trying to drag you into the ocean

Cause the impulses are always so vague

When my mind sometimes slips

Yearning to be impulsive

A thought plays back to me like a clip

“Can it get me through the day and night?”

Can it get me through the day and night?

How can it change my world?

What can strip away this anxiety and fright?

What can take care of my troubles?

How can I get this gloom out of my life?

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.