Poets logo

DAWN

Ode to Love

By James Dale MerrickPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
6
Photo by Tom Dahm @ Unsplash

I love dawns that slowly awaken us, mornings that hold back

the light of day and gently lift the darkness

to interrupt our slumber.

-

At such times I linger there beside you, waiting as you stir

for your exploring hand to cross the space between us

and come to rest against me.

-

I wait for you to face away and arch your body to receive me

as we draw near and join our forms together,

two pieces of my favorite puzzle.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you for reading this poem. If it has meaning for you, please read one of my short stories. I hope you will be able to relate events of your own life to my stories of searching, loving and finding happiness.

love poems
6

About the Creator

James Dale Merrick

I have had a rich, and remarkable life. Sharing my adventures brings me joy.. I write about lots of things. I tell about building a home in the rainforest, becoming a life model, love, death, grief, and retiring. Please join me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.