Poets logo

Darkness, thy name is…

Based on true events

By Dee Jay KayPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Darkness, thy name is

Hello there world.

A little disclaimer as this may seem darker than intended.

So I started writing a story about regrets and being able to change things. I had two endings to go off. One ending was sort of it’s a wonderful life style, where the narrator is actually happier with the way things where. The other ending was more like black mirror, where there would be a twist in which the narrator was in a beta test and it went wrong, quite darkly due to things not being happier. However, as I began to write I began to feel myself pouring onto the page. What began as a little carthatic writing, transformed into more into non-fiction and was closer to the truth of what went on. As I finished it. I realised that neither ending would work. The first was too happily ever after, whilst the second was too fictional. Honestly, I’m sadder than when I started writing it. Now I’m not going to delete it, nor am I going to post it (just yet, maybe in the future). However, I am trying to release some of the negative emotions that have been brought up with the story by writing this instead.

Darkness, thy name is…

I find myself, searching for answers and coming up with solutions which make me worse. I find myself spiralling into the darkness and the void that is my mind. I close my eyes and see an empty space where I don’t feel safe. Darkness, thy name is…

I split myself in two, in three, in four, until I cannot stand to hear myself anymore. I can’t find an exit to escape my despair nor can I find an entrance to a happier time. I feel stuck, lost and alone, in a time long since gone. Darkness, thy name is…

I believe that if I held my hand out, there would be no one to take it. I believe that I cannot control anything else in my life as life has showed me that before. Destiny is a black ink scrawled on the page which cannot be erased. Darkness, thy name is…

I need to take a deep breath, I need to realise some truths. I am seeking inside myself when in reality I’m seeking help. I know how to fight and need to gain the motivation to seek the help I need. Darkness, thy name…

As I breath in and out and let the world fall on my shoulders, I can feel the weight lifting off me. The world isn’t a weight that I can shoulder alone and I know that if I can’t escape I need to reach out harder. I need to seek help. Darkness, thy…

Each word I write, blends into the others. Each line becomes more poetic and less realistic. Each empty void slowly fills with the idea of having help. Darkness…

Until I finally calm down. Until the world is nothing more than a daydream drifting away. Until I am able to release my negativity and finally say goodbye, at least for now. Goodbye darkness, thy name is peace.

End

I decided to write my metaphorical feelings onto the page until I felt better and had released some of my pain. Don’t misunderstand me, I am not in a better place, but I have helped myself. Realistically the reason for this post is twofold. It was a way to escape from the darkness that I had created and it was a little note to others who can’t escape from their own darkness. I didn’t seek help and ultimately helped myself but this does not mean that in the future I shouldn’t seek help, nor does it mean that I can try this every time I find myself in the dark. Basically, if you find yourself in a dark place. Reach out. Seek help. There is always someone willing to listen.

Thanks for reading and remember.

Darkness, thy name is… but to defeat it you can seek help.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Dee Jay Kay

Hello there people, I am an amateur in writing, interesting in getting my work out there, and for people to read it. Let me know what you think. Dee Jay Kay x

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.