Poets logo

Darkness's Loving Embrace

By J.R. Morton

By Jason Ray Morton Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Darkness's Loving Embrace
Photo by Samuele Giglio on Unsplash

It all comes around again and again,

So I just whisper hello to the dark,

It never changes, the same til the end,

The cycle always begins, then comes the painful part,

Escape, it evades even the most skilled that hunt for it,

Keeping you on the run from returns of the past,

The whys remain shrouded in a mystery with answers you don't get,

Knowing the reality will continue to last,

Nevermind what you wanted to be,

Relegated to only your uses,

Nevermind what you want people to see,

They're only there for kicks and abuses,

How to beat back what happens again and again,

It's time to unleash the beast once more,

Thought all would have been happier not to see my friend,

But why keep fighting such a mind-boggling war,

Let loose that thing deep down inside,

The world didn't work when you locked him away,

Embrace him, and let him rule instead of hide,

Then step back as the dark, my old friend, rules the day,

Be this way it did not have to be,

Now it all comes to pass,

The dark was locked away for a reason you'll see,

Life didn't work so it's time to release the outcast,

Locked him away like throwing him to the slammer,

Hoping for more if flying solo,

Still, wanting better didn't matter,

So time for the world to see the beast and know,

Hello to the dark, it's my old friend,

It's a sad day,

I hoped to never see you again,

Apparently, the world wants it this way,

Welcome back the darkness, my one true friend,

It is time to wreak havoc and let them all behold,

The darkness and I together again,

Time for the world to know the dark, to feel the cold,

Welcome back, my old friend, I'll never lock you away again

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jason Ray Morton

I have always enjoyed writing and exploring new ideas, new beliefs, and the dreams that rattle around inside my head. I have enjoyed the current state of science, human progress, fantasy and existence and write about them when I can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.