Poets logo

Darkness Anthem

Essentialism

By Tonya NewmanPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3

Go on then, go clear your head. take that drive to her house like I know you’ve been. I have to run, get your breath off my skin, I’ll just keep on running til your name is no longer on my lips.

Don’t underestimate me I got hellfire in my veins. Just a fallen angel who forgot her holy name.

I hope she was worth it, everything you lost. Now I’m feeling lighter, climbing to the top. Letting go of all this dead weight, watch me become something you could never dream. I’ll never be held down again, never smothered or hurt, no more defeat.

You took my light and dropped me, now I’m flying first class to reality. No more glare blurring my vision. Now I’m causing chaos, the darkness is free. All your torture turned me into a mother fucking demon queen.

Don’t underestimate me I got hellfire in my veins. Just a fallen angel who forgot her holy name.

I been laughing with the devil, he can hear my thoughts. He’s seen the scars on my soul and knows the strength I’ve got.

My memories can haunt you, I got bigger things in my scope. You ain’t even on my radar, hell is my fucking home.

We were playing kids games. The whole thing was just a joke. Lost track of time til I saw the rising smoke.

Don’t underestimate me I got hellfire in my veins. Just a fallen angel who forgot her holy name.

I’m in their fucking nightmares, I remembered who I am. No more wasting time, I’ve got other plans. This hellfire in my veins is finally in command.

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Tonya Newman

Just an island girl who loves adventure. Trying to live my best life in this messed up, beautiful world. And writing along the way...

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydredabout a year ago

    Glad to have you back, love the stunning image and your words match up to that

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.