Poets logo

Darkness

By: Karmen Grey

By Nia on AirPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo by Elina Krima

The darkness has seeped into my soul

My heart isn’t cold yet, but it’s full of darkness, anger, and rage.

Is peace near?

Am I the one holding myself back from reaching enlightenment of happiness?

I keep these thoughts to myself.

As the people around me will never understand

Or could they? But will they judge? Talk about my downfall to uplift their own demons?

These are the questions that run through my mind and keep me from opening-up

I’m alone with these thoughts.

Unpacking what depression and anxiety that I can

I use to paint, but it’s not the same.

I’ve been told how bad they are that the one thing I used for therapy I no longer can

Why? Because everyone in my “circle” has only put my work down

I’m hurt but, I will be damn if I’m broken.

Wish we never did this...

L

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Nia on Air

Mental Health Survivor, Poetry Lover, Thought Speaker, Truth-Teller.

IG: @NiaOnAir_

Website: Niaonair.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.