Poets logo

Danny!

Time in Vancouver together!

By Jennifer CooleyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Danny!
Photo by Mykenzie Johnson on Unsplash

~ Danny ~

It's so embarrassing

to miss someone

you believed thought so little of you,

or so it seemed at the time

but understanding now

as I look back upon it all

eases my mind,

over the friendship made clear

once we ran free

away from the cage,

the place where we both

should have stayed

in order to have never `lost' touch

All those childhood feelings

haunting me today,

how would life be

if that bus ride had never

separated you from me?

All those childhood feelings

trying to find a way to stay

trying to find a new way

of looking at life each day,

praying for sanity

crying over the irony

as no-ones arms

continue to hold,

bodies that go to bed alone

(at least back then)

as the whole worlds love denies you

or at least that's the way it feels,

When there's nothing to grab on to for real

it's you inside

who stands beside me,

who understands the need

that high inside me

Quietly people

are dying on their own

No-one to phone

in the wee hours of the night...

to be laughing at your jokes

and the stories that you tell

mesmerize me, with your words

reducing the pain

life doesn't have to be that way;

the light of your life

upon me shining

a glory of moment that's mine

to share in knowing you're there

my soul no longer dying

because...

it's you inside me

who stands beside me,

who understands that need

that high inside me.

Now we get by

with those histories tried

and that love still real,

a connection that time

could not subside

as I wonder what happened,

A friendship

that no amount of violence

or time can be denied;

All those childhood feelings

haunting me today

how would life be

if that bus ride had never

separated you from me?

All those childhood feelings

trying to find a better way

to look upon life,

each new day

praying for sanity

crying over the irony

that need for a fix

another great big hit

never goes away,

you're the one keeping it at bay

as I wipe away 2 teardrops

that fall one beneath each eye

never getting over that final episode

what I never thought

would be the last time

I looked in your eyes,

never getting over

the constant need to die

when you're so beautiful

and all the friendship

that I needled

to have things be

the way they should be.

It can't be denied what two people hold inside,

just wish you were here

as I write a moments thought

of who you are to me;

Loving you Danny

for loving me AWAY

Needling it,

it will always be

You and me

for all, we longed to have inside our empty and

distorted lives,

for what went wrong

in terms of youth and the choices

we never had the opportunity to make;

praying for sanity

crying over the irony

that's the way

it will always be.

All those childhood feelings

haunting me today,

how would life be

if that bus ride

had never separated

you from me?

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Cooley

I've been writing as long as I could hold a crayon! Remember writing my first story like it was yesterday at 5. I remember the details of the day, location, time, excitement & where the story was preserved for all time! Lots Born From That!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.