Poets logo

Dancing Girl

Perfect moments

By The Invisible WriterPublished 2 years ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2021
27

Her arms stretch out from her sides

She spins,

In one circle after another

Her blonde hair lifts off her shoulders

She twirls,

Around and round

Her head tilts back

Her eyes look up at the ceiling

As though she can see

The sky beyond

Her voice carries in perfect pitch

Over music coming from speakers

Older than she is

She glides on bare feet

Her small legs moving above

Thick tufts of carpet

Her hands open

Each finger stretching out

Both arms spreading further apart

She turns in perfect rhythm

Faster and faster

Her shoulders out over

The arch in her back

The clear image of her gone

She pirouettes out of focus

Her dress floating

Above her knees

-

A leaf falls

From a tree

Beyond the glass

Of the lone window

Behind her,

I Take a drink of coffee, and

I know moments like these

Don't always come

This Perfect

I ask,

Who my princess is

She laughs,

I am your princess

Who’s my best friend

She smiles,

I am your best friend

I love you

I love you too, Daddy

The song ends

She stops,

Turning to look at me

I already know what she wants

But she asks anyway

I want to listen to my album, daddy

I lift the clear plexiglass

Covering the turntable

The needle moves

Over the vinyl already

Spinning below

Idina Menzel’s voice fills the room

Snow glows white on the mountain tonight

She twirls,

Away again

Singing with Idina

I listen to her duet

As she dances

On tip toes

At four years old, almost five

She is my whole world,

My everything

I Take a drink of coffee, and

I know moments like these

Don't always come

This Perfect.

love poems
27

About the Creator

The Invisible Writer

"Poetry is what happens when nothing else can"

Charles Bukowski

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Oh, this brought tears to my eyes. My little girl is almost an adult and I miss those innocent moments of pure joy and just living in the moment. Beautifully written. Thank you for sharing :)

  • Awwww, she's soooo adorable and she looks so happy in the photo! Such a wonderful poem for her! I loved it so much!

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    How precious. I love this. So beautifully and gently written.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Beautiful, heartwarming piece. Well done.

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    This was beautiful!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.