Poets logo

Dancing Across the Stars

A poem for a dear departed friend

By Rasma RaistersPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

A poem I wrote about a very dear friend who passed away some years ago. We knew each other since high school days. I was in contact with him even when I moved to Latvia and my late husband and I met with him when we visited NYC at the end of the 1990s. I miss him especially on very sunny and warm days when we would walk the streets of Manhattan NYC together. I suppose the two of them have met up with each other up there and are beaming at me from above. The photo is of me and my friend Frank.

Missing my friend

today as the sun shines

I remember summers

spent in the sun

having fun

with my greatest friend

who was always there to make me laugh

and to hold me when I cried

we had a bond that was so strong

we would spend summers

dancing through the streets of New York

it was summer and it was sweltering

but we had our love and friendship

everything seemed like magic

we fantasized that the glittering skyscrapers

all around where raining diamonds upon us

there could never be any hurt or sorrow

then came the day that he went away

creating a dark and bleak morrow

just as silently as he’d come into my life

like a shadow, he slipped away

but now as I look at old pictures

I know I should not sorrow

for now, I know that he’s up above

smiling down on me

dancing across the stars

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rasma Raisters

My passions are writing and creating poetry. I write for several sites online and have four themed blogs on Wordpress. Please follow me on Twitter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.