Poets logo

Damaged Goods

Whole and broken

By TestPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Damaged Goods
Photo by Stephane YAICH on Unsplash

I was packed up

and shipped out.

I was sent to a place -

I was kept in the dark.

I arrived whole

and filled with curiosity.

But the way things were done meant

I had to sing a different tune to fit in.

I got packed again with four others.

They were different but the same.

They also sang the same tune to fit in.

And soon they forgot what their original song was.

I didn't care anymore about fitting in-

Because I was suffocating.

I had no room to breathe

and no space to feel free.

Claustrophobic at the core.

I began to be defiant

and voice a song I made up.

It sounded sharp

and displeasing to the ear.

But it didn't matter

because people started to leave me alone.

And then when I had enough of it all

I shipped myself out.

And as I left I had holes in me

and I was no longer whole.

I broke parts of me when I sang

the shrieking song that was mirthless.

I left some remnants of me behind

as I just wanted to get away

so I could finally feel me again.

Over the years, my holes have filled slowly

but I'm patchy,

suffered a few scratches

and my whole looks like its from a different era.

I still have pieces I need

to collect

to remember who I was.

And I'm beginning to sing

a tune I once knew

but it feels new.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Test

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

Test is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.