Poets logo

Daily Log

What I saw outside my garden during the Coronovirus

By Susan LeePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
black squirrel

Daily Log

At my alma mater, black squirrels would boldly stomp around the campus ground.

My friends and I used to joke that they were dyed from the nearby Linear Accelerator Center's experiments gone awry.

I looked out the window this morning and spotted a fat black squirrel from the corner of my eyes.

It took my memory back to lush grounds at my alma mater where the frolicking of these black creatures were common sightings and would draw jovial exclamations from the students!

The day before, I had a stare-off with a squirrel who performed crazy acrobats by hanging upside down from a tree trunk with its tiny claws, intently studying me -- an innocent bystander perched underneath the oak tree and evidently encroaching upon its territory.

I envy their freedom --

their gallivanting and foraging and chases in the wild of the garden out back,

their circular dances and rotations oft seen from the red patio of this abode,

Safe from and unaffected by the epidemic that is raging across the land...

*If you liked this poem, feel free to leave a tip so I can continue writing in the future!

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Susan Lee

I graduated from Stanford University in 2002 with a BA in International Relations and a minor in Psychology and have a Masters in International Affairs from Georgetown University.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.