Poets logo

Curveball

backlog, number 8

By Jesse LawPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Curveball
Photo by Mark Duffel on Unsplash

life is teaching you a lesson

are you getting the answer or asking the question?

it's hard to tell which way is up, but it's not to tell where I messed up

I never was too good in school, I slacked off and I broke the rules

I never got the hang of anything I was supposed to

life is throwing you a curveball

do you step up to the plate, do you swing at all?

it's hard to tell what I should do, it's harder to tell what I shouldn't do

I never was too much for words, no point in talking if you're never heard

I never got the hang of anything I was supposed to

life is handing you a lemon

do you make lemonade, or sit asking questions?

it's hard to tell what I should say, it's harder to tell if I'm okay

well, that curveball is coming straight for the plate

are you gonna swing at all, or just gonna stand there and wait?

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Jesse Law

A musician, a poet, a friend, and over-thinker based in Columbus, OH.

Find me on Spotify or other music services.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.